How to share Gmail inbox among GSuite users

Nov 07 2019

Many companies create one shared Gmail inbox (e.g., support@your-domain.com, sales@your-domain.com, etc.), and hand over the login credentials to multiple employees, who log in from different computers and answer emails in parallel. One account with a shared user and password leads to collisions between company employees, inefficiency, and lack of ownership. Moreover, if multiple users frequently access the same account from different locations, there is a risk of a temporary lockdown. You should use GSuite shared groups instead and other collaboration features.

GSuite shared groups allow Gmail users to send and reply to messages using the group's email address. Each user works with the group messages in her/his own Gmail inbox, and there is no risk of lockdown.

To create a shared group, follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to the Google Admin Console. Google Admin Console
  2. Go to the Groups app (needs Groups administrator permissions) Groups app
  3. Click the Create Group button on the title bar. Create group
  4. Type the name, description, and email address of the new group.
  5. Click the Next button.
  6. Choose the Access type: Create group
    • Public - open for posting for employees and people from outside (recommended for sales@your-domain.com, support@your-domain.com, info@your-domain.com, and alike addresses);
    • Team - open for posting for an internal team or department;
    • Announcement only - open for posting for group owners only;
    • Restricted - open for posting and viewing for an internal team or department.
  7. Click the Create group button.

The setup and configuration of the new email group take a while, but in a few minutes, it becomes active. Updates of Group directories finish in a day or so.

The activated group automatically delivers all incoming messages to the group address to all members of the group. A member of the group receives the incoming group messages to the personal Gmail inbox and can reply either from the personal address or from the group address. However, a member of the group cannot see the outgoing messages or the replies of the shared group members.

There are three different solutions for sharing outgoing messages for Gmail groups:

Collaborative Inbox

Collaborative Inbox

Collaborative Inbox is a feature of Google Groups for Business, which you need to enable in your Google Admin Console. Google Groups allow you to create a mailing list with the address support@your-domain.com or info@your-domain.com for your support or service teams. When a customer sends the email to the support@your-domain.com, your customer service people receive a copy of the message to their Gmail inboxes and can reply or forward the email. Other actions are available in the Google Groups interface:

Advantages

Disadvantages

Auto BCC for Gmail

Auto BCC for Gmail

Auto BCC for Gmail is a Google Chrome extension for sending automatic BCC or CC copies of outgoing emails in Gmail.

Advantages

Disadvantages

support@all Email Sharing

support@all Email Sharing

support@all app for GSuite shares all incoming/outgoing emails of GSuite shared group. The service monitors inboxes of the shared group members; finds the direct and indirect messages related to the shared group and copies the missing emails to the Gmail inboxes of all members.

Advantages

Disadvantages

Collaborative Inbox, Auto BCC, and support@all are affordable solutions with the functionality limited to essential components. If you need more advanced CRM solution, check GSuite Marketplace, but prepare to pay twice as many as for the G Suite subscription.